## # Times-Standard

## Byrne, Johnson boys' MVPs; Latham, Borges girls' MVPs in H-DN All-County baseball and softball selections

The Times-Standard

Posted: 06/15/2010 01:30:18 AM PDT

Say hello to the Humboldt-Del Norte Conference's fantastic four: Byrne, Johnsen, Latham and Borges.

Arcata's Conor Byrne earned the Big 5's baseball MVP honors while St. Bernard's Cody Johnsen took home the most valuable crown in the Little 4 as the official H-DN All-County baseball and softball selections were released on Monday.

In softball, Eureka's Jessica Latham was named the Big 5 MVP while St. Bernard's Brittany Borges took home the award in the Little 4.

The Tigers' Byrne is joined by teammates Andrew Nelson, Marcus Walker, Kane Trobitz and Alex Cuhna, all of which were first-team selections. The Tigers claimed the Big 5 title going 10-2 in the league.

Other Big 5 first-teamers include Del Norte's Layton O'Reilly, Zack Hegelmeyer, and Travis Stacey. Eureka's Jeff Faulk and Stephen Nessler also made the first team. The selections are closed out by Fortuna's Zach Cahill and McKinleyville's Kenton Johnson.

The Crusaders' Johnsen is joined by first-team selections and teammates James Pastori, Ryder Stapp, Garth Bonomini and Matt Kirk. St. Bernard's won the Little 4 crown going 11-1 in league play. The team made it to the North Coast Section Division VI championship game only to fall to the Little 4's second-place team. Ferndale.

Speaking of the Wildcats, Jordan Wilkinson, James Slade and Andrew Matyshock earned first-team nods

Other Little 4 first-teamers include Hoopa Valley's Trevor Avery and Clay Ramone. South Fork's Brandon

Steele closes out the selections.

Joining the Loggers' Latham as first-team selections are teammates Brianna Moore, Molly Mullins, Jessica Roodenburg and Allyson Snipes. Eureka won the Big 5 crown going 9-4 in league.

Other Big 5 first-teamers are Fortuna's Kelsey Jones, Kaitlyn Sigler and Caylin Crivello. McKinleyville's McKenzie Ford and Tammy Valley also made the first-team. The selections are rounded out by Del Norte's Lauryn Lesina and Arcata's Amelia Gray.

Like the other MVPs, Borges has plenty of company as teammates Haylie Chase, Sarah Ringler, Kaitlyn Swihart and Tawnya Reed earned first-team nods.

The other first-team selections are Ferndale's Makenzie Burgess, Kayleigh Meyers and Becca Robison. Hoopa Valley's Rachene Reed and Shaylynne Masten also made the first-team and South Fork's Chelsea Harrison rounds out the list.

A plethora of other athletes made the honorable



| ff Times-Standard                        |                               |
|--|-------------------------------|
| mention list. The full listing is below: |                               |
| All-County Selections                    | Ryder Stapp (St. Bernards)    |
| H-DN Baseball/Softball 2010              | Garth Bonomini (St. Bernards) |
| Big 5 Boys Baseball                      | Matt Kirk (St. Bernards)      |
| Conor Byrne (Arcata)-MVP                 | Jordan Wilkinson (Ferndale)   |
| Andrew Nelson (Arcata)                   | James Slade (Ferndale)        |
| Marcus Walker (Arcata)                   | Andrew Matyshock (Ferndale)   |
| Kane Trobitz (Arcata)                    | Trevor Avery (Hoopa)          |
| Alex Cuhna (Arcata)                      | Clay Ramone (Hoopa)           |
| Layton O'Reilly (Del Norte)              | Brandon Steele (South Fork)   |
| Zack Hegelmeyer (Del Norte)              | Big 5 Girls Softball          |
| Travis Stacey (Del Norte)                | Jessica Latham (Eureka)-MVP   |
| Jeff Faulk (Eureka)                      | Brianna Moore (Eureka)        |
| Stephen Nessler (Eureka)                 | Molly Mullins (Eureka)        |
| Zach Cahill (Fortuna)                    | Jessica Roodenburg (Eureka)   |
| Kenton Johnson (McKinleyville)           | Allyson Snipes (Eureka)       |
| Little 4                                 | Kelsey Jones (Fortuna)        |
| Cody Johnsen (St. Bernards)-MVP          | Kaitlyn Sigler (Fortuna)      |
| James Pastori (St. Bernards)             | Caylin Crivello (Fortuna)     |

Advertisement



McKenzie Ford (McKinlevville) Garrett Peets (Arcata) Tammy Valley (McKinleyville) Greg Kirby (Del Norte) Lauryn Lesina (Del Norte) Barrett McClaflin (Del Norte) Amelia Grav (Arcata) Nate Bruder (Del Norte) Little 4 Zack Wilkinson (Eureka) Brittany Borges (St. Bernards)-MVP Tyler Nickell (Eureka) Haylie Chase (St. Bernards) Justin Byrum (Fortuna) Sarah Ringler (St. Bernards) Cole Collings (Fortuna) Kaitlyn Swihart (St. Bernards) Brandon Weitzel (Fortuna) Tawnya Reed (St. Bernards) Colton Hackett (Fortuna) Makenzie Burgess (Ferndale) Sam Schmidt (McKinleyville) Kayleigh Meyers (Ferndale) Juston Frazier (McKinleyville Becca Robison (Ferndale) Little 4 Rachene Reed (Hoopa) Cody Weatherbee (St. Bernards) Shaylynne Masten (Hoopa) Andy Heins (St. Bernards) Chelsea Harrison (South Fork) Kyle Van Dyke (Del Norte) Honorable Mention Chase Brodt (Ferndale) Big 5 Boys Baseball Chance Ambrosini (Ferndale) Casey Coelho (Arcata)

Advertisement



| # 11mes-Standard              |                                |  |
|-------------------------------|--------------------------------|--|
| Robert Buckman (Hoopa)        |                                |  |
| Ronny Davis (Hoopa)           | Chandler Davis (Del Norte)     |  |
| Alex Hodge (Hoopa)            | Megan Vina (Arcata)            |  |
| Sierra Doane (Hoopa)          | Little 4                       |  |
| . ,                           | Taylor Reed (St. Bernards)     |  |
| Shane Nixon (Hoopa)           | Darah Hill (St. Bernards)      |  |
| Hokeem Sadon (South Fork)     | Hannah Denny (St. Bernards)    |  |
| Jazper Strange (South Fork)   | Jamie Gillespie (St. Bernards) |  |
| Carlos Ayala (South Fork)     | Sara Pichulo (Ferndale)        |  |
| Big 5 Girls Softball          | Sierra Earley (Ferndale)       |  |
| Raegan Lima (Eureka)          | ,                              |  |
| Meghann Brenneman (Eureka)    | Amber Earley (Ferndale)        |  |
| Taylor Burgess (Fortuna)      | Kelly Chambers (Ferndale)      |  |
| Shayla Cook (Fortuna)         | Ashley Masten (Hoopa)          |  |
| Brittany Gonzalez (Fortuna)   | Ashtyn Colegrove (Hoopa)       |  |
| Disney Gamboa (Fortuna)       | Katie Rinkevicz (Del Norte)    |  |
| Bernie Smith (McKinleyville)  | Krystina Pardoski (South Fork) |  |
| Kelly Perkins (McKinleyville) |                                |  |
| Kaila Johnson (McKinleyville) |                                |  |
| , , ,                         |                                |  |
| Ariana Spalding (Del Norte)   |                                |  |

Advertisement