Times-Standard

Mack crowned H-DN golf champs: Rice individual king; Del Norte finishes 2nd as a team

The Times-Standard

Posted: 05/04/2010 01:51:00 AM PDT

McKINLEYVILLE -- It's no surprise the McKinleyville High boys golf team reigned supreme in the final Humboldt-Del Norte Conference tournament at Baywood Golf and Country Club on Monday.

The Panthers led from first league tournament and never let go.

Finishing with a team score of 400, Mack ends with a season total of 2,682 to earn the automatic qualifier for the North Coast Section Championship set to be held at Baywood on May 17.

Will Rice earned the individual champion designation finishing with an overall score of 22, nine strokes better than second-place finisher Cody Curteman out of Fortuna.

When it was all said and done, each McKinleyville golfer placed in the top 10 in individual marks.

Del Norte finished with a 407 for second place in the H-DN finale. The team also finished second as a team overall with a final tally of 2,832.

Eureka compiled a 443 at Baywood and finished third overall as a team with a 3,017 total.

Individually on Monday, Curteman finished atop the leaderboard with a 74. Rice was next with a 78.

Del Norte and the top three individuals (Curteman, Arcata's Forrest Iverson and Matt Cendejas) will travel to Windsor on May 10 for the NCS Qualifier.

The top 12 individuals received medals and the top seven are set to get All-County honors.

H-DN at Baywood

Final League Tournament

McKinleyville 400

Bridger Cotton 79

Cody Bates 79

Will Rice 78

Chris Solis 82

Nick Johnson 82

Collin Montgomery 89

Del Norte 407

James Morrow 79

Luke Polidore 82

Times-Standard

Shane Frank 91

Christian Cain 84	Cody Curteman 74
Dillon Wright 80	Landon Stone 87
	Brandon Arneson 93
Anthony Kravitz 82	Kyle Fuller 97
Eureka 443	Conner Black 103
Robert Canepa 88	Tyler Carter 125
Kenny Carswell 94	
Zac Radford 85	Ferndale 457
Chasen Dillon 97	Jon Losa 88
Nathan Madsen 87	Cale Lorenzo 89
	Colton Wilcox 125
Jake Cruz 89	Terris Becker 97
Arcata 444	Grady Titus 91
Forrest Iverson 82	Dillon Cook 92
Matt Cendejas 87	
Louis Gilbert 81	St. Bernard's 507
Ryan Ennes 99	Travis Wong 93
Riley Gomes 95	Travis Rice 112
	Ryan Truby 95
Billy Bartley 109	Travis Evans 106
Fortuna 454	

Times-Standard

Tallon Barnhart 101	10. Luke Polidore DN 50
Cameron Perry 125	11. Matt Cendejas Arc 54
South Fork 589	12. Robert Canepa Eur 61
Jason Caldwell 106	Team Final Scores
Brent Brodersen 107	McKinleyville 2682
Dolan Dillon 124	Del Norte 2832
Ноора 630	Eureka 3017
Individual Top 12	Arcata 3105
(Top 12 receive medals, Top 7 receive All-County Honors)	Fortuna 3182
1. Will Rice Mack 22	Ferndale 3210
2. Cody Curteman Fort 31	St. Bernard 3414
3. Cody Bates Mack 32	South Fork 3923
4. James Morrow DN 35	Hoopa 4146
5. Forrest Iverson Arc 40	
6. Bridger Cotton Mack 40	
7. Nick Johnson Mack 42	
8. Chris Solis Mack 44	
9. Collin Montgomery Mack 49	