Times-Standard

Vainuku wins Big 4 offensive MVP; Two Cats given MVPs

The Times-Standard

Posted: 12/16/2009 01:30:20 AM PST The Eureka football team was recognized by the Eureka City Council at its meeting Tuesday, then again by the Humboldt-Del Norte Conference when it released its all-league selections this week.

Soma Vainuku, the running back for the North Coast Section Division II champion Eureka Loggers, was named the Big 4 offensive MVP. He had 762 yards and 15 touchdowns in six games against Big 4 opponents and gained 2,202 yards and scored 38 touchdowns on the season, including the playoffs.

Fortuna senior TJ Rice was named the Big 4 defensive MVP for his play at linebacker.

In the Little 5, Ferndale's towering linemen Dustin Walters and Silas Sarvinski were named the offensive and defensive MVPs, respectively. Walters played offensive tackle and Sarvinski defensive end.

McKinleyville quarterback Chris Pender shared the offensive MVP with Walters.

ALL-LEAGUE LIST

- 1. Soma Vainuku RB/LB Sr Offensive MVP
- 2. Erik Sharp DB/WR Sr
- 3. Dallas Mohorovich DL/TE Sr

- 4. Scott Stewart OL/DL Sr
- 5. Jeff Faulk LB/RB Jr
- 6. John White LB Sr
- 7. Zach Wilkinson RB/DB Jr
- 8. Cory Thornton OL Sr

FORTUNA

- 1. Matt Totten OL/DL Sr
- 2. Skylar Sutsch OL/DL SR
- 3. Tyler Moody WR/DB SR
- 4. T.J. Rice RB/LB SR Defensive MVP
- 5. Matt Johnson QB/LB SR
- 6. Zach Cahill TE/LB So
- DEL NORTE
- 1. Nate Bruder DB SR
- 2. Warren Bailey LB SR
- 3. Greg Kirby DB SR
- 4. Jordan Dutton C/DL SR
- ARCATA

Times-Standard

1. Noah Wheeler	
2. Paul Parkman	Garrett Peets ARC
HONORABLE MENTION	Billy Bartley ARC
	Kodie Boyer ARC
Wes Hull EUR	LITTLE FIVE
Kenny Spaight EUR	
John DeMartini EUR	FERNDALE
Jared Figas EUR	1. Jacob Coppini RB/DE
Brock Repec EUR	2. Chase Brodt OL/DL
	3. Silas Sarvinski OL/DE Defensive MVP
Houston Seddon EUR	4. Dustin Walters OL/DL Co- Offensive MVP
Niko Mazzotti EUR	5. Frankie Griggs QB/DB
Landon Stone FO	
Teigan Eilers FO	6. Jon Losa WR/DB
Melik Cuellar FO	7. James Slade WR/DB
Jose Aguilar FO	8. Andrew Matyshock TE/LB
	MCKINLEYVILLE
Kyle Eggen DN	1. Chris Pender QB/DB 12 Co-Offensive MVP
Christian Alexander DN	2. Luke Miller WR/DB 12
Roy Ward DN	
Josh Craft DN	3. Mike Smith RB/LB 12
Cameron Anderson ARC	4. Morgan Greer OL/LB 12

Times-Standard

- 5. Brandon Parker OL/DL 12
- 6. Shane Larson RB/LB 11

SOUTH FORK

- 1. Jazper Strange RB/DB 12
- 2. Joe Gauvain RB/LB 12
- St. Bernards
- 1. Garth Bonomini WR/DB 12
- 2. Talavou Fonoti RB/LB 12

HOOPA

- 1. Trevor Avery QB/DB 12
- 2. Michael Dickson LB 12
- 3. Rodney McKinnon RB 11
- 4. Shane Nixon DB 11