Times-Standard

Ayers named L4 boys' MVP in H-DN's hoops picks; Couch, Allen B5 co-MVPs

The Times-Standard

Posted: 03/22/2009 01:27:16

AM PDT
Having a primary hand in St.
Bernard's North Coast
Section Division IV title win,
Andrew Ayers was named the
Humboldt-Del Norte Little 4 MVP
by the league on Saturday.

Arcata's Tim Couch and Eureka's Greg Allen took the co-MVP honors over the Big 5.

McKinleyville's Sage Romberg took home the MVP crown in the Big 5 while Hoopa's Kin-sin-tah Joseph earned the honor in the Little 4.

The St. Bernard's boys

basketball team earned two additional first-team players in Josh Genevro and Nick Dalby. Hoopa had two players named in Dion and Roman Hutt while Ferndale showcased a pair of relatives as well in Jesse and James Slade. South Fork's

Luke Wilhelm rounded out the

Little 4 first team.

The Big 5 boys' first team saw Arcata earn two more selections besides Couch in Ryan DeHart and Conor Bryne.
Eureka's Randy Olson and DeMarcus Coleman joined Allen on the first team.

In the girls portion,

Times-Standard

McKinleyville had two selections in Chris Pender and John Stull, while Fortuna landed Skylar Rice and Ryand Hudson to the list. Del Norte rounded out the team with Cody Hoffman and Taylor Duncan making the first team.

Over in the girls, McKinleyville

had two players join Romberg on the Big 5 first team in Kaila Johnson and Heather Lovelace.

Fortuna added a pair with Mallorie Franco and Kelsey

Jacobs. Eureka (Kelly Kime and Lorena Reynolds), Arcata (Rebekah Matteri) and Del Norte (Lauryn Lesina) rounded out the

first team. In the Little 4, Hoopa's Winter Nelson and Sara Chase

joined Joseph. South Fork had a trio of players (Brittany Neill, Taylor Neill and Ginger Wojcik) make the team while St.

Bernard's (Haylie Chase and Brittany Borges) and Ferndale (Jodi Grinsell and Brianne Miller) rounded out the team.

All-County Selections

H-DN Basketball 2008-09 Big 5 Boys

Tim Couch (Arcata)-co-MVP Greg Allen (Eureka)-co-MVP

Ryan DeHart (Arcata) Conor Byrne (Arcata)

Randy Olson (Eureka) Demarcus Coleman (Eureka)

Chris Pender (McKinleyville) John Stull (McKinleyville)

Advertisement



Times-Standard Skylar Rice (Fortuna) Big 5 Girls Ryan Hudson (Fortuna) Sage Romberg (McKinleyville)-**MVP** Cody Hoffman (Del Norte) Kaila Johnson (McKinleyville) Taylor Duncan (Del Norte) Heather Lovelace (McKinleyville)

Little 4 Boys

MVP

Andrew Ayers (St. Bernards)-Josh Genevro (St. Bernards)

Nick Dalby (St. Bernards)

Dion Hutt (Hoopa)

Roman Hutt (Hoopa)

Jesse Slade (Ferndale)

James Slade (Ferndale)

Rebekah Matteri (Arcata)

Kin-Sin-Ta Joseph (Hoopa)-MVP

Little 4 Girls

Lauryn Lesina (Del Norte)

Winter Nelson (Hoopa)

Mallorie Franco (Fortuna)

Kelsey Jacobs (Fortuna)

Lorena Reynolds (Eureka)

Kelly Kime (Eureka)



# Times-Standard	
Sara Chase (Hoopa)	Nate Hamilton (Fortuna)
Brittany Neill (South Fork)	Brian Sisson (Fortuna)
Taylor Neill (South Fork)	Zac Branson (Fortuna)
Ginger Wojcik (South Fork)	Brian Ross (Fortuna)
Haylie Chase (St. Bernard)	Tyler Moody (Fortuna)
Brittany Borges (St. Bernard)	Logan Kiff (McKinleyville)
Jodi Grinsell (Ferndale)	Ben Enos (McKinleyville)

Brianne Miller (Ferndale) Harlan LeRoux (McKinleyville) Cole Lesley (Del Norte)

Big 5 Boys Little 4 Boys Jordan Semple (Arcata) Stephen Papstein (St. Bernards) Justin Hatch (Eureka) Lane Stapp (St. Bernards)

Lonnie Risling (Hoopa)

Honorable Mention

Willie Raymond (Eureka)



# Times-Standard	
Tyler Mitchell (Hoopa)	Jazmyne Younkin (Eureka)
Michael Korb (Hoopa)	Nikki Powell (Eureka)
Cole Salmon (Ferndale)	Sarah Visser (Eureka)
Jimmie Griggs (Ferndale)	Kaylee Gorge (Arcata)
Andrew Matyshock (Ferndale)	Kaylie Rook (Del Norte)
Rudy Marenghi (South Fork)	Michelle Stacey (Del Norte)
Big 5 Girls	Little 4 Girls

Sara Shorey (McKinleyville) Sara Lewis (Hoopa) Kaitlyn Miller (McKinleyville) Pateisha Ferris (Hoopa)

Shanley Schoenhofer (Fortuna)

Jordyn Shaha (Fortuna)

Maci Tomasini (Fortuna)

Lili Herrera (Fortuna)

Fork)

Starlene Doolittle (Hoopa)

Breanna Miller (South Fork)

Larissa Harrison (South Fork) Zoe Wong-Weissman (South



Annie Porter (St. Bernard)

Ashley Stodder (St. Bernard)

Kaitlyn Regli (Ferndale)

Danielle Jackson (Ferndale)

Alayna Renner (Ferndale)